RESIDENTIAL LEASES, COMPLETELY UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE SIGNING
I wish to better inform each party of what is expected and required when leasing a property in Texas. Just like any paperwork you sign, when it comes to residential leases, completely understand what you are signing.
- All locks in a rental property must be changed within seven days after a tenant takes occupancy. This is a Texas Property Code requirement and a State Statute.
- Every entry and exit door must be equipped with a key-less half-deadbolt l The front door must also contain a deadbolt locking device. All windows must have working locks, and at least one window per room must be capable of being used as a fire exit. Any sliding glass doors must have two separate locking devices. All entry doors must have a peephole.
- A working smoke alarm must be furnished by the landlord. It is very important that the tenant check before moving in and notify the landlord immediately in writing if the alarm is found to be defective or missing.
- If the rental is supplied with gas, please be aware that carbon monoxide poisoninq affects over 100,000 people every year. Though the landlord is not required to provide a carbon monoxide detector, we strongly recommend that one be installed before the premises are occupied.
- Federal law requires the owner of any rental property built before 1978, or containing components manufactured before 1978, to disclose to the tenant the likelihood of the presence of lead based paint. This disclosure must be accompanied by the Federal booklet “Lead Paint and You”.
- Texas landlords are only required to repair items materially affecting the health and safety of ordinary Repair requests must be in writing and rent must be current to have repairs made. The landlord has up to seven days to make a diligent effort to satisfy a repair quest.
- The landlord’s property insurance policy will almost never cover any losses a tenant may incur while We strongly recommend that a tenant acquire a renter’s insurance policy prior to occupancy.
- Leases customarily grant a landlord the right to show the property to prospective renters and purchasers, especially during the last 30 days of a tenancy.
- The landlord must furnish the tenant a written, itemized deposit resolution within 30 days after the tenant vacates and provides the landlord a forwarding address.
- The landlord must verify whether the property must be registered with the city as a rental and if there is a registration fee.
- Read the lease very carefully and obtain a legal opinion if there is anything you do not fully understand.
- Before submitting an application for a lease and signing a lease, it is highly recommended that you physically view the property in person!